top of page
  • Writer's pictureMusicDish

JahWahZoo x I Kong: A Jamaican, Veteran Reggae Musician meets a Chengdu Reggae Band with a New Voice

Updated: Jul 21, 2021


Born in the underground music scene in Chengdu, a Southwestern Chinese city, JahWahZoo is composed of seven experienced musicians that jokingly call themselves “Smog Reggae”. Chengdu itself is a culturally diverse city known for its spicy food. Because of its cultural diversity, this town was the perfect starting point for JahWahZoo to culminate their “Smog Reggae” music. Although reggae music is not the most popular genre of music in the country, the band has been able to grow rapidly in this new wave of music.




 

Meet the Band

Lai Yongfend | Vocal & Keyboard

Chen Kai | Drum

Wen Jianfeng | Guitar

Chen Zheng | Trumpet

Liu Xiaoyi | Guitar

Liu Yue | Saxophone

Li Sheng | Bass

Wang Yulong | Keyboard

 

I Kong meets JahWahZoo: Zoo To The Roots


After performing at the ClockenFlap Music Festival last year in Hong Kong, the band members set up a plan to record an album with I Kong, which ended up sparking up an amazing collaboration. This collaborative album has been successfully crowdfunded and released. It is of extraordinary significance because it truly captures the hearts and interests of music fans. This album was a large passion project for the band and they are ecstatic about the release of the album through mediums like vinyls and CDs.



Who is I Kong?


I Kong is a Jamaican Chinese reggae legend that comes from an influential family in the world of reggae. The Kong family contributed to the world of reggae by creating one of the most important labels in the history of reggae -- Island Records.  Within I Kong’s family is his uncle Leslie Kong, a famous Jamaican Chinese producer who was the first producer to discover the potential of Bob Marley. From an early age, I Kong frequently went to his uncle’s recording studio and became fully immersed in the world of reggae. 





Inside View of The Making of this Collaborative Album


Because of I Kong and his family’s visas, the collaboration album had to be done in twenty days creating a lot of pressure for the project. Although members like Wang Yulong wish they could have more time to ensure the process from creation to performance is done well, he knows that the recording process just needs to adapt to a more efficient standard. Li Sheng compares the process to rushing to climb a mountain to night to watch the sunrise at the top of the mountain. Though in this process there will be struggle, there will also be a great reward at the end making the hard work all worth it. 


Throughout this collaboration the band claimed that there was not a big change in their expectations from the beginning. Although the collaboration between the two parties did have an unpleasant atmosphere at times, they were still able to create and record together. This collaboration even left the band with a more intense desire to go to Jamaica to truly immerse themselves in the reggae culture. 


This collaboration between I Kong and JahWahZoo had a few bumps in the road at the beginning with I Kong focusing a lot more on the improvisation of the music. Wang Yulong talks about how it was difficult at first because the band was used to the recording process with a pre-rehearsal. But after working a bit with I Kong, the two parties were able to create “the biggest musical collision”. Li Sheng also talks about how this was his first time performing authentic reggae music and how grateful he was for such a rare and special experience.

 

I Kong’s father and son also joined in the collaboration saying that they never knew about reggae music existing in China. Both were excited about the potential of the music being created as it became “the intersection of these two completely different energies”. 





The Members Voice Their Impressions of Chengdu, a City Which Serves as Inspiration for their Music


Wang Yulong: There are so many beautiful girls in Chengdu.


Li Sheng: Chengdu people, they all like to slow down the pace and experience the beauty of life in detail.


Lai Yongfeng: Enjoyed the fine dining and nightlife that Chengdu has to offer. 


Chen Zheng: I can feel that he [Skunga Kong] is very fond of Chengdu, but his impression of Chengdu, I may not know, because everyday I have been drinking with the old man, and he’s been quite dizzy.


JahWahZoo discusses a lot about how their music reflects a sense of Chengdu with members like Wang Yulong talking about how love is emphasized through the psychedelic components of Smog Reggae. Li Sheng backs Yulong’s statement by discussing how the band likes to make things more natural and flowing. Overall, the band believes that their Smog Reggae is inspired by the bustling life in the city. 



Album Favorites of the Band Members


Wang Yulong: I chose “The World’s Gone Mad” because the content of this song and my own inner thoughts can easily reach a consensus.


Li Sheng: I chose "One King,” because this song I Kong sings with true emotions about my persistence in my faith, and the spirit of Rastafari is also one of the main reasons why I like Reggae music. 


Lai Yongfeng: I prefer “Jah Leads the Way.” I am fortunate to be able to sing with Master Kong. The process of creating is very straightforward, and more brain-intensive. After thinking about this song all night, I recorded it the next day.


Chen Zheng: I like the song "Tell Me Why,” because I recorded it together with the old man (I Kong). I sang the harmony part. After drinking a little with the old man (I Kong), I felt very good in the studio. 

85 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page